Starting Afresh: 365 Blank Pages

Tomorrow is the first blank page of a 365-page book. Write a good one. – Brad Paisley

2013 was a year of changes for me. This time, last year, if you had told me that I would be living in USA, I would have made an unladylike snort. But look at where I am now – living in Oklahoma, trying to change the way I pronounce certain words because I am tired of a “what?” response every time I speak to a stranger, and liking every “Go Boomer Sooner” post in Facebook. I am just one of the thousands of young Malaysians abroad who are trying to keep their identity while adjusting to a new culture.

It has been four months since I arrived in Oklahoma, and I do not know what lies ahead in the next 3 1/2 years. I do not know where I will be going after I graduate or what adventures awaits me. One thing I am sure is that I am a city girl at heart. I love the hustle and bustle of the city, and daresay that I miss the hectic lifestyle and traffic jams. Cue gasps.

Whatever lies ahead, I am just going to focus on this year. I want this year to be a memorable year for me. I know that it will not be challenge free as I have been told many times that the first two years in college are the hardest. I am not one who makes New Year resolutions, but I have a motto for this year and I feel compelled to share it here. No matter what happens in 2014, this is my motto of the year: Study hard, no boys, enjoy life.

Finally, before I return to staring at pictures of Saint Bernards, huskies, and Newfoundland puppies (in case it is not obvious, I am in my puppy/dog obsession stage), I want to point out a blog post that I just read. It is inspiring, amazing, and right in every way. Spare the next couple minutes and read Sincerely, One of Many Girls Who Care. I promise your time will not be wasted.

Posted on January 5, 2014, in Inspirations, Thoughts, and Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Welcome to the Midwest 🙂 Is it cold there? We, up in KS, have a -3 low overnight and snow on top of snow.

    • Not really. It snowed a little last night and this morning (much to our surprise), but the current low of the day is 10 degrees. After my first snow experience, I no longer envy anyone who has snow. It’s too cold for me! 😀

Leave a Reply

