Weekly Ramblings [7]

Hi Readers,

I just want to give an update about my current ‘situation’. As some of you might know, I am currently living in Malaysia. However, that is going to change very soon.

I was a homeschooler and I graduated from the Alpha Omega Homeschool Academy after 13 years of school. During those 13 years, I used three different curriculum – Advanced Training Institute, Alpha Omega, and Sonlight. There were ups and downs. My most memorable years were when we used Sonlight Curriculum. Imagine learning every subject by using lit books!

Anyway, to cut a long story short, I took my SAT on June 1st and graduated on June 25th. I started applying into universities in early July. I completed five applications after scouting hundreds of American universities/colleges websites. Thankfully, I received four “yes” (I have no idea what happened to my 5th application).

I will be moving to Shawnee, Oklahoma in mid-August. Ever since then, the preparation have been non-stop: flight ticket, winter clothes, shopping, visa application, inoculation, visa interview, more shopping, more inoculations. My busy schedule was one reason why I didn’t post last week. From now until September, I wouldn’t be posting as regularly as before. Hopefully, once I’ve settled in Oklahoma, I’ll be able to return to my usual posting schedule. Also, I’m hoping to find a good bookstore in Shawnee!

I thought I’d share a few pictures of my last weekend. I traveled to Kuala Lumpur early on Thursday morning and only returned on Sunday afternoon. I spent the whole day shopping. I had my visa interview at the US embassy the next morning and continued shopping after the interview. My cousin’s wedding was on Saturday.

It was a pretty exciting event, especially since he is the first among us cousins to get married. The wedding was the most beautiful and unique wedding I’ve ever attended. It had a fusion of both Asian and Western traditions. I’ve always been more interested in a Western theme wedding than in an Asian theme wedding, but I’m beginning to think that a fusion of the best of both is pretty cool. 🙂

Forever Begins...

Forever Begins…

Reception table for the bride, groom, and their immediate families.

Reception table for the bride, groom, and their immediate families.

At the evening wedding ceremony. The ceremony was held by the hotel's poolside.

At the evening wedding ceremony. The ceremony was held by the hotel’s poolside. Needless to say, there were a few uninvited guests in the pool!

Entrance of the bride and groom. Dinner reception.

Entrance of the bride and groom. Dinner reception.
The unmarried cousins :P

The unmarried Han cousins 😛

Just one of the many photos we took together.

Just one of the many photos we took together.

Till then,
Audaciously Evangeline

Ps. Me going to study in Oklahoma is a miracle. My parents would never be able to pay the costs. I was blessed with a couple of scholarships that covered all the major expenses. 🙂

Posted on July 30, 2013, in Inspirations, Thoughts, and Ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow, how exciting! You will be a fellow Midwesterner like me! I live in KS 🙂 Those are beautiful wedding pics. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Aw, that is so exciting 🙂

Leave a Reply

