Review: Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

onyx book coverPublisher: Entangled Teen
ISBN: 978-1620610114
Pages: 416
Format: Paperback
Rating: 4

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

Review

This is the second book in the Lux series. I won the first one, Obsidian, started reading it, and was instantly hooked onto the story. This second book is no different. I couldn’t put the Kindle down until I had read all 416 pages of it. The characters, action, suspense, mystery, and not forgetting the tension and romance were as good as ever.

I received the review copy of this book when I signed up for the 30 Days of Daemon tour. For that tour, I posted my favorite Daemon quotes and moments taken from both Obsidian and Onyx. For some reason, ever since I posted that in May last year, that post has been a top post every week (I don’t get it actually, I get that he is supposed to be an attractive character, but I don’t understand the level of Daemon fandom…). Even until now. I intended to post the review for the book, I even wrote the draft, but I didn’t publish it. So, this is my second attempt at reviewing this book.

Daemon has changed so much in this book. It’s actually kind of freaky the way he gets so caring and thoughtful. His kind gestures will make you go “aww”. But, I missed the Daemon in Obsidian. Yes, he was more unapproachable and somewhat of a jerk, but that was him. He was blunt, teasing, nonchalant, uncaring, and mean. His character does a nearly 180° turn in this book. It takes quite a bit of getting used to, but I guess it wouldn’t harm if this softer side of him continues to show.

Katy was very different as well, and not in a good way. She was constantly pushing Daemon away and making up the flimsiest excuse of why they cannot be together. It was irritating and annoying. She made stupid decisions that endangered her life and the lives of those around her. She held company with the new boy, Blake, who doesn’t exactly scream trustworthy. She was stubborn and pig-headed. I liked her Obsidian character better. Yes, she is still a book blogger and that was a little redeeming quality, but I wished someone would just shake some sense into her.

Just like in Obsidian, there were shockers in Onyx as well. Like the person Katy saw. Before reading the book, I had a guess about the character and my guess was partly correct. The suspense was an absolute killer. As expected, the ending was a cliffhanger. The story literally ended on the climax, or at least one of the climaxes, and I found myself groaning in disappointment. I cannot stand books that have no sure ending, but this was different. Thankfully the ending wasn’t a bleak and hopeless one. Instead it was a bittersweet ending.

The romance was one of the two good parts. Even if I wished that Katy had better reaction, I still thought it adorable the way Daemon chased after her. I doubt the macho Daemon realized his gestures were cute. He has this tough guy image, but around Katy, he becomes a softy. And although it shouldn’t be so, his jealousy was amusing (intentionally forgetting Blake’s name aka calling him different names starting with B?). It was so obvious and I don’t know how Katy could be so mean as to let him stew in it!

The other good part is the action. There were two major situations. I cannot go much into them without giving spoilers. Let’s just say there was plenty of worry, angst, determination, fighting, anything good in an action that you can think of. While much of the story focused on Daemon and Katy’s chemistry, there were sufficient parts devoted to the action. And my, was the action good!

Conclusion: I loved reading Onyx. It has romance in it and the usual young adult themes, but it remains relatively clean, which was actually quite surprising for me. There weren’t many kissing scenes, which could be a disappointment for some. I can’t wait to read the third book, Opal. I’m off to order it as soon as I’m done with this review. I’ve read the reviews of it and while I’m not looking forward to the cliffhanger in it, I’m looking forward to the further development in the whole DOD vs. Luxen thing and the “how” about the person who was seen alive by Katy in this book. If you know me, I try to stay away from science fiction books, but the Lux series is definitely an exception!

jennifer armentrout authorAbout the author

# 1 NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout lives in West Virginia.

When she’s not hard at work writing, she spends her time, reading, working out, watching zombie movies, and pretending to write. She shares her home with her husband, his K-9 partner named Diesel and her hyper Jack Russell Loki. Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent her time writing short stories. Therefore explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes Young Adult Contemporary, Urban Fantasy/Paranormal and Romance. She writes New Adult and Adult romance under the pen name J.Lynn

She is the author of the Covenant Series (Spencer Hill Press) the Lux Series (Entangled Teen) and the upcoming YA Don’t Look Back (2014) and untitled YA (Fall 2014) from Disney/Hyperion. She is also published with Harlequin Teen and HarperCollins. Visit her website at www.jenniferarmentrout.com.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Posted on June 21, 2013, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow! How many books do you read in a week? I read a lot of magazines, but miss books! They are a bigger commitment 🙂

    • Right now, I’m reading one or two books every day. I’ve just finished school and all those final exams, so I’m having a bit too much extra time right now. 😀 Once I start a new semester, things would probably slow down a bit here. I don’t really read magazines… unless tabloids count. 🙂

Leave a Reply

