Blog Header & Blog Button/Badge

I finally made a proper blog header and button! I’ve been wanting to make them for quite some time, but didn’t have the proper tools or applications. When someone from my Christian Blog Buddies Facebook group posted about PicMonkey, I decided to give this free photo editor a try. It worked fantastically well.

I started with a blank template using the “Create a collage” function and proceeded to fill in a light pink color that matches the color of my menu links. I then added the wording and graphics using the palette provided. I had to re-size the header to fit WordPress’ requirements, but that was pretty easily done. All I had to do was re-upload my complete image using the “Edit a photo” function. Cropping and resizing the image made it blurry, so I had to tweak the clarity settings a little.

I had to redo the entire process for the blog button because resizing the header image using such a wide scale difference distorts the proportion. It was quite easy, except that I probably spent most of the time taken to do it staring at the computer screen trying to figure if the graphics were evenly spaced and proportioned or not (blog button is 150×150, so quite small).

Doing both took me over an hour. I didn’t want to overdo the image, but I also didn’t want it to be too sparse. Unfortunately, it looks way girlier that I expected it to be. I decided to use the butterflies and flowers graphics because butterflies and roses are my favorites. What I didn’t expect was the image to turn out way girlish than even the images used on those girly craft blogs! Oh well, what’s done is done.

There’s a code on the right of this screen for the blog button. —>
If you could add it to your blog sidebar, that would be great. 🙂

On another topic, I mentioned a few weeks back that one of the things on my to-do list is have a giveaway. I’ve signed up for a giveaway hop. The Freedom to Read giveaway hop will run from July 2nd to 9th. It coincides with Independence Day, so that explains the name. I’ll be offering an Amazon giftcard since sending book swag isn’t feasible right now and I don’t have any fancy bookish items in stock.  I’m looking forward to it. Hopefully, it would help expand my blog reach after the period of stagnancy (I’ve learned my lesson – never leave a blog stagnant… it’s difficult trying to do the whole networking and attracting active readers again).

I guess that’s about it. I have a few review posts lined up till the end of the month. I’ll be having a cover reveal and different types of posts next month. I’m trying to get more variety, since this month’s book postings has been nearly all review posts as I try to catch up with my backdated books to be read.

Reading voraciously,
Audaciously Evangeline

Posted on June 18, 2013, in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I really like it and I like how it is girly. I think it suits you, in a way.

Leave a Reply

