Review: Talk of the Town: Ella by Carolyn Butler

talk of the town ella book coverPublisher: Astraea Press
ASIN:  B00B1ZO842
Pages: 80
Format: eBook
Rating: 3.5

When Ella was 3 years old, she told Sid that she would marry him. When she was 13 years old, she told him that again. However, he left for the Army, and she received no word from him until he returned 11 years later.

Sid is a man battling with demons in his past. His tenure in the Army has left him a changed man. He returns to Cedar Dell to find that Ella is still very much interested in him like she was 11 years ago when she made her love for him clear to everyone. He maintains a stone-face, hard facade around her. Can Ella, with her determination, chip away at the walls of his heart? Or will Sid turn away from her yet again?

Review

Ella is a determined person. For the first three chapters, I had the impression that she is too determined. After all, which 24-year old woman bluntly tells a man she wants to marry him and for the third time?! But as I read on, I learned that her determination is not all bad. Her determination is a good character trait in the way it assails Sid’s self-doubts. Only a determined woman can change a man like Sid.

She pushed the flash of lightning-white fringe out of her eyes. “I still want to marry you,” she moved closer to him and he plunged his hands into his pockets.

“And as I remember, you always get your way.”

—p. 8

Talk of the Town: Ella is a pretty simple story. Girl has a childhood crush and infatuation that never went away despite boy being away for 11 years. When said boy (or should I say, man) returns after 11 years, girl (now, woman) tells him for the third time that she wants to marry him. The first two times she told him that was when she was four and 13 years old. And of course, as you can guess, the story is about her journey to capture this man’s heart.

For a short story, the ending was a tad bit too rushed. The last chapter was especially confusing. By the time I completed it, I still had no idea what brought about the change in Sid. I’m not going to give away any more details because they’ll be spoilers then, but I’ll just say this – Sid’s explanation for his change in mind and heart left much to be desired!

I seldom read stories with an Australian setting, so it was interesting reading this book. The words used certainly had me not forgetting that the story’s setting is in Australia. Besides the usual “mate”, there was also “swag” which I had to Google for its definition because its usage definitely isn’t the same as the American usage.

No doubt, I enjoyed reading Talk of the Town: Ella. The story is far from perfect, but it’s such a simple read. I probably completed it in less than 20 minutes! Aside from the fact that I’m a fast reader, the story is light and easy to understand. There are no complicated twists or dramas and that undoubtedly makes this story a light read.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author through the Astraea Press book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Posted on June 2, 2013, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 I’m excited to be following yours now!!

Leave a Reply

