Review: Somebody to Love by Sheryl Browne

somebody to love book coverPublisher: Safkhet Soul
ISBN: 978-1908208118
Pages: 221
Format: eBook
Rating: 3
Age recommendation: Young adult, Adult

After a turbulent marriage to a man who walked off hand-in-offshoot with something resembling a twig, divorced mum, Donna O’Conner, doubts happy endings exist. She’d quite like to find herself an Adonis with… pecs …and things. Alas, that’s not likely, when her only interest outside of work is hopping her three-legged dog in the park, carrying a poop-scoop. In any case, Donna isn’t sure she’d know what to do with an Adonis if she fell on one. When PC Mark Evans comes along, gloriously gift-wrapped in blue, however, she can’t help wishing she did.

Mark, a single father, is desperate for love. He doesn’t hold out much hope, though, that there is a woman out there with a heart big enough to love him and his autistic son. Enter big-hearted Donna, plus three-legged dog. And now Mark has a dilemma. Pretending not to mind her house-bunny chewing his bootlaces, he’s smitten with Donna on sight. Should he tell her his situation up-front? Announcing he has a child with autism spectrum disorder on a first date tends to ensure there isn’t a second. Or should he skirt around the subject, which amounts to a lie? When one lie leads to another, can he ever win Donna’s trust back? Admit that he didn’t trust Donna enough to let her into his life?

Review

What caught my eye and made me want to read this book is the fact that one of the protagonist has a special needs son – an autistic son, to be specific. While I don’t have family members with special needs, I have encountered special needs kids and they are absolutely adorable. So I read Somebody to Love. And fell in love with the story, and Karl.

Okay, I’ve got to say that the writing style isn’t top-notch. It isn’t literary standard. But for a light read, it definitely is cozy. It is the type of story you’ll want to curl on a comfy chair and read. There isn’t mystery, but there is some good drama. You can’t forget the humor too, especially when there is a three-legged dog in the story!

Mark is an easily likeable character; Donna? Hm. She is a nice person, but she draws conclusions way too fast. Maybe it has to do with the fact that she had been in a bad marriage once. Nevertheless, I sometimes thought that she needed to give Mark the benefit of the doubt. Whenever there is scenes with Mark and Karl, I can’t help thinking “aw…”. The way he cares for his son is just so touching and “personal”. There isn’t major character development for the main characters, just sufficient to display the various dimensions of each character.

All in all, Somebody to Love is foremost a light read. I always enjoy the occasional light read and this was no exception. The shenanigans of the characters kept me entertain throughout the story and the portrayal given in the raising of a special needs child and care of a handicapped dog is accurate. There is fun and there is times when the characters have to make important decisions. What I liked about this story is that the funny scenes and heavy scenes are nicely balanced out to keep the story a light read.

About the author

sheryl browne authorSheryl Browne grew up in Birmingham, UK, where she studied Art & Design. She wears many hats: a partner in her own business, a mother, and a foster parent to disabled dogs. Creative in spirit, Sheryl has always had a passion for writing. She has previously been published in the US and writes Rom Com because, as she puts it, “life is just too short to be miserable.” Visit her website at www.sherylbrowne.com.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received the PDF of this book free from the author through Goddess Fish Promotions. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
Sheryl will award a $20 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn commenter during the tour, and a $10 Amazon GC to a randomly drawn host. The more you comment in this tour, the higher your chances of winning are. This tour comprises of Somebody to Love and Warrant for Love by Sheryl Browne. You can follow this tour by clicking on this link.
Posted on August 15, 2012, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Thank you for hosting Sheryl today.

  2. Hi Evangeline. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing my book. I am so glad you fell in love with the story and found the portrayal of raising a special needs child accurate. That, above all, was very important to me. I really appreciate the time you took and your thoughtful comments. Have a lovely rest of your day! 🙂 xx

  3. I think the writing is perfect for this romantic comedy. Who wants to read literary wordswords for light reading? It’s like saying this chihuahua is not a poodle. I like the easy chatty language used in Somebody to Love. It’s exactly what a book like this calls for. I don’t want to read an encyclopedia when I read a light romantic story.

  4. It’s always “characters first” with me, and these sound very appealing!

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

    • Thanks, Trix. I do try to bring real-life, with all its tumultous, sometimes stressful events, into my writing (along with the humour we find in everyday situations, albeit sometimes in retrospect), so characterisation and accurate representation of ‘real’ people is important to me. Thank you so much for stopping by – and your lovely comment! 🙂 xx

  5. The humour does it for me every time! When it comes to romcoms I think Sheryl is one of the funniest around at the moment and I totally agree it’s a ‘curl up in a comfy chair’ read – which is exactly what I did!

    • Aw, thank you, Linn. That’s one of the other things I aspire to do: leave the reader with the all-important feel-good factor that comes with spending an afternoon curled up with a ‘good’ book! I’m so glad you enjoyed. Thank you for your lovely comment – and the compliment. I fear my head will be too big for my tiara now! 🙂 xx

  6. I love to curl up with a book and be entertained, to feel relaxed, and to enjoy a chatty narrative. Somebody to Love sounds exactly my kind of read!

  7. some moments are right for literary, others for a bit of fun – haven’t read it yet, but this book is on my list for the fun times!

  8. Well, doesn’t this book sounds fluffy good! I love me some fluffy good reads 🙂

    justforswag(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  9. I do enjoy a cozy read now & then.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  10. Just popping in to say HI and sorry I missed visiting with you on party day! Hope you all had a good time!

    kareninnc at gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

