Review: Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons by Denise Grover Swank

twenty nine and a half reasons tour badge

Publisher: CreateSpace
ISBN: 978-1475089578
Pages: 398
Format: eBook
Rating: 3
Age recommendation: Young adult, Adult

When Rose reports for Fenton County jury duty she figures she’s lucky to get out of a morning working at the DMV. Instead, despite a disastrous encounter with the new assistant district attorney, Mason Deveraux, she’s picked as a juror on a murder case. As the trial progresses, she realizes an ominous vision she had in the men’s restroom proves the defendant is innocent. And there’s not a cotton picking thing she can do about it.

Or is there?

Review

Rose is an endearing character. Yes, there are times when the decisions she makes when she gets into scrapes causes me to get annoyed with her and don’t get me started on her stubbornness! But yet she is a fascinating and fun character. Throughout the book, I was rooting for Joe, her boyfriend. I wasn’t entirely happy or satisfied with the decisions Rose makes when it comes to her relationship with Joe and had to remind myself that there is another book in this series and the ending in this book was as good as it could be.

I enjoyed reading this sometimes predictable but interesting story. I consider it a mix of chick lit and cozy mystery. Because of Rose’s vision, we have a pretty clear idea about the innocence of the defendant. Consequently, we are brought on a shenanigan-filled trip to find the real murderer. There isn’t much suspense and the action is quite minimum considering the story has to do with a murderer who hasn’t been put behind bars.

There isn’t much I have to say about Twenty-Nine and a Half Reasons. Since I had the ARC, there were numerous punctuation errors that I found disruptive. Nevertheless, I would reread this book if I have the time and when I want a light mystery read. There is romance and the occasional humorous scene, frustrating characters and fun characters. All these blend together to make one intriguing read.

Buy this book at: Amazon Kindle | Amazon print
Find Denise at: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

7/23 Audacious Reader /Review
7/24 Day Dreaming /Guest Blog     
7/25Redheads Review It Better /Guest Post
7/26 Wonderland Reviews /Review and Interview
7/30 Cuzinlogic /Review
8/2 Bajan Rosa Books /Review
8/6 Words I Write Crazy /Review
8/8 My Cozie Corner /Review
8/8 Cabin Goddess /Review
8/8Reviews By Molly /Review    
8/9 A Chick Who Reads /Guest Post & Excerpt
8/10 Reader Girls /Review and Giveaway
8/10 All Things Writing /Review

About the author

denise grover swank authorDenise Grover Swank lives in Lee’s Summit, Missouri. She has six children, three dogs, and an overactive imagination. She can be found dancing in her kitchen with her children, reading or writing her next book. You will rarely find her cleaning. Denise is the author of the bestselling urban fantasy series, The Chosen. You can find out more about Denise and her other books at www.denisegroverswank.com.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this eBook free from the publisher through Innovative Online Book Tours. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

