Armchair BEA: Beyond Your Blog

armchair bea logo

If there’s something I love about book blogging, it’s the boundless opportunities it has presented. Sometimes though, these opportunities wears out after awhile, especially when I’m being hounded to review for a certain website or for a certain author. Nevertheless, I welcome these opportunities because who knows, I might one day receive a tantalizing offer in an opportunity.

When I was just a months-old book blogger, I actually received an offer to write for a mission magazine. The editor of the magazine had seen my interview of his author friend and asked if I was interested in the job. Since the job needed qualifications I did not possess, it did not work out. Still, it was an eye-opening experience. At that time, I did not know that book bloggers are sometimes approached with job offers on the basis of them being book bloggers.

As for offers to review or write elsewhere, I’ve gotten them. I seldom put away these opportunities because I view them not only as opportunities to practice my reviewing or writing, but also as opportunities to let others know about my blog. Usually in a guest blog post or review that I write, I am allowed to include a link to my blog in the author blurb. Most times, I receive some traffic because of these links.

What about you? What opportunities beyond your blog have you received as a book blogger? If you wrote a post about this, leave a link in the comments and I will visit. To read the posts of others, visit this page. Till them, happy BEA-ing!

Posted on June 7, 2012, in Armchair BEA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Yes! We must grab a hold of these opportunities and do our best! 🙂
    Amazin’ post! I totally agree with ya!

    Happy Day Four of Armchair BEA to you!
    My Armchair BEA Day Four entry

  2. You have to go after the right things for you! Happy Day 4!

  3. I need to do more guest posting. I’ve slowly started doing more and more, but I always feel silly asking.

  4. That’s awesome that you’ve gotten asked at least lol. I hope I have that happen someday. I haven’t had many outside experiences with my blog yet, but I’ve only been blogging for 3 months so I probably will in the future.
    -Melissa @Harley Bear Book Blog

  5. Blogging is crazy at times because a great opportunity is often just around the corner.

  6. Sounds like some good opportunities, but you’re right, you need to know what you want and what you’re capable of. It’s wise to turn away something you’re not comfortable doing.

Leave a Reply

