Armchair BEA: Let’s Talk Networking

armchair bea logo

Here’s a confession – I enjoy networking, but there is this small part of me that dislike it as well. I have been networking to build my blog’s reach ever since I became a book blogger. Let me tell you this, networking is very time-consuming. Needless to say, it is satisfying when I reap the fruits of my efforts.

It isn’t easy kicking-off networking without pointers and tips from those who have gone on this networking road before us. Thankfully, there are dozens of articles and postings about networking. It is obvious that many recognize the difficulty of networking. One thing I like about the book blogging community is that book bloggers are mostly willing to offer help and advise when it comes to the crunch.

Sadly, reading literature is not a big part of the community which I live in. Many times, I walk into book promotions only to discover the books on offer are textbooks. Of course, there are those self-help books by “gurus” of certain fields. When I tell people I am a book blogger, they wear a blank expression. What is book blogging? Publishers send you books?!, they ask.

I have always wondered (with a tinge of envy) about book bloggers who get passes to author events/signings and book events because they are book bloggers. I have this hope that one day, there will be a community of book bloggers where I live. I know there are a few Malaysian book bloggers (I tend to get excited when I discover fellow Malaysian book bloggers), but they are not living in the state where I live.

I am pretty much into online networking, but it is my goal to venture into offline networking. I’ve recognized that offline networking is essential in building bridges not only with authors and publishers but also with book bloggers because let’s face it, a book blogger cannot exist as a hermit.

I’d love your thoughts about offline networking. If you wrote a post, leave a link in the comments and I will visit. To visit the posts of other participants, click here. Have fun participating in Armchair BEA!

Posted on June 6, 2012, in Armchair BEA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. It is hard to get started! Finding the right people to connect with….especially in places that don’t really host many BIG literary events.

    Since you asked for links..I did a list of tips for today’s topic. I live in a small town, so I get you on how it’s hard. The link: http://www.lettersinsideout.net/posts/armchair-bea-day-three/

  2. Networking offline is certainly a challenge when there isn’t already an established community.
    In what Malaysian state do you live? I lived in KL/Petaling Jaya for six months in 1993 but only made it out to Malacca and Penang.

  3. I strongly agree to this post. Networking is very time consuming but gratifying. Thanks for sharing this.

    Happy Day Three of ArmchairBEA to you!

    My entry to the ArmchairBEA topic networking

  4. I’ve run into some Malaysian book bloggers online over the years but yes, there isn’t a lot. I’m not much of a networker either.

  5. Networking is key to getting yourself out there to be heard. By being out in the front, you may inspire others to join in. I’ve got several ideas (both on & offline) in my post at Tattooed Books

  6. I’m not the greatest about networking offline with other bookworms – I guess I’m a bit of an introvert, and I’m not sure if this will ever change. But I love networking online!

  7. Where I live there aren’t a lot of book bloggers, either. You pretty much have to rely on meeting people online. But I’m sure the opportunity to meet people IRL will come along eventually!

Leave a Reply

