Armchair BEA: Introductions First!

armchair bea logo

It’s Armchair BEA! For the past few days, I have been trying to find the website for book bloggers not attending BEA. Thankfully, an email regarding Armchair BEA was circulated in the Team Novel Teen. Last year, I did the interview exchange thingy and it was fun but this year, I’ve decided to join in the theme posts. There are some great topics in store and I’m looking forward to writing the posts. Kicking off this week-long event is the introductions posts. I’m doing this a day late as I just found Armchair BEA today. Check out the introductions posts of other book bloggers here. If you posted an intro post, leave a link in the comments and I will visit.

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

I’m Evangeline and I live in Malaysia. I have been book blogging for 20 months. I decided to begin book blogging because of my love for books. I am a bookworm and what better topic to blog about than books?

What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2012?

I’m currently reading Archimedes’ Claw by Dr. Theodore Homa and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, the latter I borrowed from my cousin. So far, my favorite book in 2012 is It All Started With An Apple. For the most part, the story is hilarious, until towards the end of the book. This is the only book I’ve read which is very funny and very sad at the same time. The fact that it is a clean story is an added plus.

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.

I have a dimple.

What is your favorite feature on your blog (i.e. author interviews, memes, something specific to your blog)?

Hm, I’m finding it difficult to choose between The Dear Series and Weekly Ramblings. I don’t have much time to write The Dear Series, but it’s so worth it when I receive comments saying that what I wrote is helpful. As for the Weekly Ramblings, I like it because I can maintain a casual, chatty tone in it, I can add smileys and ellipses whenever I feel like it.

Where do you see your blog in five years?

In a self-hosted website (hey, I can dream, can’t I?).

Which is your favorite post that you have written that you want everyone to read?

That would be my first The Dear Series post. (For those of you who have not read it, I will link it here when I’ve retrieved my blog at audaciousreader.com.)

If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?

Vanessa Diffenbaugh. There are so many questions I would ask her. It isn’t normal to have a debut author making such a huge “splash” in the publishing world and what Diffenbaugh achieved is amazing.

What literary location would you most like to visit? Why?

Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy’s home. What can I say, I love Pride and Prejudice. It was my favorite book long before I joined the book blogging world.

What is your favorite part about the book blogging community? Is there anything that you would like to see change in the coming years?

The bookish camaraderie. It’s nice to read the thoughts of others on books, especially ones I’ve read. When I read the posts about books and catch on the passionate tone behind those posts, it makes me wonder why there aren’t more people reading. A change I would love to see is stronger relationships between authors and book bloggers.

Have your reading tastes changed since you started blogging? How?

Definitely. I am reading a wider range of books. Previously, my books were confined to classics (especially award-winning ones) and Christian fiction/non-fiction. Now, my favorite genre is contemporary Young Adult and I enjoy a wide range of genres.

Posted on June 5, 2012, in Armchair BEA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m a wee bit late, too. In fact, you beat me to the punch. I learned of the event today and scrambled to get my intro done. Looking forward to reading more of your work. I love your blog title. Here’s my into post: http://www.downthewriterspath.com/2012/06/bea-armchair-an-introduction/

    • Thank you, Vikk. I can’t find the comment button in your blog… just wanted to say that I like your blog. It’s the first blog I admire your reading choices. There aren’t many people nowadays who read writings from the old literary giants.

  2. I would love to visit the homes of Jane Austen’s world as well! I’ve been reading quite a few books with that setting lately and I’m madly in love….though I’m not sure how I would do without current day amenities!

    Nice to “meet” you!

Leave a Reply

