Armchair BEA: Best of 2012

armchair bea logo

Today’s theme is about some of my “favorite books so far this year, and/or the the books being promoted at BEA that I hope will end up among my favorites for the year.” If you’re joining in today’s theme post, leave a comment with a link to your post and I’ll visit. To read the postings of other participants, click here. The following are the top 5 amazinglicious books that I’ve read (or am reading) this year.

1. Beyond Hope’s Valley by Tricia Goyer – After reviewing Beside Still Waters, the second novel in the A Big Sky Novel trilogy, I knew I’d just have to read the third book, Beyond Hope’s Valley. I had it pre-ordered from the Book Depository last year (I could barely wait to discover who the main character would end up with) and it came in the mail just before its release date. I enjoyed Beyond Hope’s Valley even more than Beside Still Waters. There are few books in the bonnet fiction genre that I enjoy and these two A Big Sky Novels are definitely in the “enjoy” category. The stories are absolutely fantastic and fun to read.

2. Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout – This book caught my fancy from the beginning. Combine the perfect humor and cool action together, you get one mind-blowing, perfect story.

3. It All Started With An Apple by Tainted Rain – This is the only story that has manage to get me laughing out loud at nearly every chapter. I don’t usually laugh out loud when I’m sitting in front of the computer but the funny scenes were just too much for me to handle. Of course, there is the heartbreaking chapters near the end as well. If you ever visit Wattpad (yep, you can read this story for free), I suggest checking this story out. And don’t worry, it’s content is very much clean.

4. The Maid of Fairbourne Hall by Julie Klassen – This one is an interesting story about a well-to-do girl who goes incognito as a maid to escape an unwanted arranged marriage. Problem is, she starts working as a maid in the house of a former flame. I enjoyed the mystery, intrigue, and humor.

5. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – Okay, I admit I have not yet finished this book but I can definitely see why this book and its film is sensational. I’ve been wanting to read THG and was given the opportunity when my cousin loan it to me. I absolutely will be reading the other two books in this trilogy.

Posted on June 5, 2012, in Armchair BEA and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Good thing I am browsing best of 2012 with my Goodreads open.

  2. The only one of these I’ve read is Hunger Games (and I’m so glad you’re discovering how fun it is). Looks like I need to read even more! Great choices!

  3. I’ve heard such nice things about Jennifer Armentrout, but haven’t read her yet. Might be time to change that. I loved Hunger Games – make sure you have Catching Fire on hand – you’ll want to jump right into that one!

  4. Obsidian is amazing! I want to re-read it just thinking about it! 🙂

  5. Loved THG and I’ve heard good things about Obsidian.

    I hope you have a great BEA-filled week!

    ~Christina (and the other Book Hookup Litbrarians)
    The Book Hookup’s Best of 2012

  6. I can’t wait to read Obsidian! 😀 I’m really excited for it. 🙂

    And I loved The Hunger Games! It’s such an amazing trilogy. 😀

    Thanks for sharing your list! 😀
    Ambur
    My Armchair BEA Giveaway

  7. I have only read The Hunger Games.

    Lisa

  8. Glad you’re joining in The Hunger Games love! Suzanne Collins really set the bar high for YA dystopian fiction!

    Great list! Here’s my Best of 2012!

  9. I’ve read one book by Julie Klassen, The Silent Governess, and really enjoyed it!

    The Hunger Games is really good. Have you gotten a chance to see the movie?

Leave a Reply

