What would you like your readers to take away from your book? by PT Dawkins & Giveaway

the analyst book tour

I would say three things. I would like them to have been entertained, which to me means that at some point in their reading, they might have lost track of time or place, or stayed up too late and been tired at work the next day because they were “into it.” I spend a lot of time trying to achieve that, which to me is another way of saying “show, don’t tell.” When I am reading, that is the difference between a novel I will finish and one that I won’t. I’ve long since gotten over the feeling that if I start a book, I have to finish it. I’ve been very fortunate to have a number of people say to me, “I really don’t like/trust/believe character so and so.” That is music to my ears. I don’t care how you feel about a character, as long as you feel something.

The investment industry is confusing to many but, as you get into it, fascinating. As I was writing I tried to “dumb it down” (for lack of a better phrase – no insult intended). One real challenge was to try to explain what it means to sell a stock “short.” (You’ll have to read The Analyst to find out.) I’ve also had a number of people tell me they learned something about the business, which is gratifying. My plan in all of this was to use the legal thriller format but apply it to an investment industry environment. I think when we learn about what actually goes on in a court room, we are interested. In The Analyst, change the court room for the trading floor. Hopefully, people find that interesting as well.

The third thing would be for a reader (other than my wife) to say “Hey, this PT Dawkins isn’t such a bad writer. If (when) he publishes another book, I might just give it a try.”

Find PT Dawkins at: Website | Blog | Twitter
Buy The Analyst at: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca | Barnes & Noble | Chapters Indigo

Continue reading for the giveaway

Giveaway

A print copy of The Analyst is being given away to one AR reader. This giveaway is only open to residents of US, UK, and Canada. Ends on May 17th. Since I am now using WordPress.com, I cannot post the giveaway widget here. To enter the giveaway, click on the link below. It would lead you to this blog’s Facebook page, where the Rafflecopter widget is located.

Click here to enter the giveaway

After David Heart’s father’s estate is squandered by bad advice, his mother faces eviction and his grandfather needs life-saving surgery. A seemingly-helpful family friend finds David a seat at a bucket-shop off-Wall Street firm with the promise that money flows like wine.

Naive and quickly recognized as an easy mark, David is plunged into the eat-what-you-kill world of a trading desk, where the analysts, salesmen and traders sit like pigs at a two-sided trough. Bullied by the cruel, abusive head trader known only as Blackie, David is relieved when Sandy Allen, a strikingly provocative street-smart saleswoman, comes to his aid. But, what David doesn’t realize is that hidden agendas are everywhere, and no one can be trusted.

Now the target of extortion, David must make an impossible choice: facilitate an insider-trading felony in exchange for the money his family desperately needs, or face the cruelty of his mentor-turned-predator who has framed David and promises that he alone will be found guilty and suffer the consequences of the crime he refused to commit.

Posted on May 12, 2012, in Giveaways, Guest blog posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I read for entertainment primarily but I also love it when I can learn something I didn’t know. Thanks so much for the opportunity to learn more about your book!

  2. Evangeline – thank you very much for hosting my novel.
    ALl the best

    PT

  3. Hi Evangeline!! love the new site. I enjoyed reading this novel. it was a good read. don’t want to enter just came by to read the interview.
    http;//sidnereading.blogspot.com

  1. Pingback: LIVE! BOOK TOUR – The Analyst by P.T. Dawkins! « Nurture Virtual Book Tourz™

Leave a Reply

