Dear Blogger: Comment Etiquette

Dear Blogger,

Posts about etiquette when commenting on blog posts exist all over the Internet. But, I want to bring up two points, or two don’ts, that I consider important in today’s post.

The first don’t is, don’t leave comments in an author’s blog asking for a review copy. I can give you my 100% assurance that doing that is one sure way of getting in the wrong books on the author. Politeness is a big rule in etiquette and requesting for review copies in public comments is rude. When you do that, you’re telling the author that all you want is to snag a review book. You don’t even want to bother sending an email to the author’s email address or through a contact form.

I’ve seen such comments again and again. The first time I read a review request in a comment, I was surprised. If the blogger isn’t embarrass with their behavior, I am. I still cringe inwardly each time I read such comments. If you want a review copy, you will have to prove to the author that you will appreciate the review copy. Review copies cost money and the chances of authors sending you review copies is higher when you are polite and take the time to email them. It doesn’t take 5 minutes to write a query letter to an author.

So, please, if you have been leaving review requests in the author’s blog posts, stop.

The second don’t is, don’t leave spam comments in blog posts. It is fine if you leave a link to your blog when commenting on meme posts such as Waiting on Wednesday, Booking Through Thursday, and In My Mailbox posts. After all, one aim of such meme posts is to generate blog readership. It is also fine to leave a link to your blog if the blogger asks for a link.

To a better blogging future,
Evangeline

The Dear Series is a series of posts addressed to either authors or bloggers. If you have any topics you’d like to see me address, please let me know in the comment section below. As always, I welcome your opinions. If you read something you like or do not like, let me know! I hope you enjoy this series as much as I enjoy writing them.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in The Dear Series and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

