Review: Crown of Vengeance by Stephen Zimmer

crown of vengeance book coverPublisher: Seventh Star Press
ISBN: 978-0982565612
Pages: 597
Format: Paperback
Rating: 3.5
Age recommendation: Teens, Young adult

It was just another day in the lives of Janus, Mershad, Erin, Logan, Ryan, Derek and their friends until strange mists engulf them. When the mists cleared up, they find themselves in a strange land, the world of Ave. Some of them end up in the Saxan Kingdom and others in the lands of the Onan, a tribe belonging to the Five Realms confederation. Invasion forces are massing under the lordship of the Unifier, a mysterious figure with powerful influence and dominion, against Saxany and the Five Realms.  This war, when unleashed, will be fought in the skies, seas, land, and the non-physical realm.

Review

The first thing I noticed when I started reading Crown of Vengeance is the rich descriptions and wide range of vocabulary employed. I was blown away by it. It’s been a month since I read a rich literary work and I was astounded to find such a piece of work in a fantasy novel. Note to self: Never underestimate fantasy novels. The descriptions and imagery used were so good, I could imagine the scenes easily.

I did not particularly like the mundane beginning. At some points, I even thought that there was some sort of agenda and point of view, especially relating to stereotypes, being pushed through the revealing of the characters’ background. Thankfully, the story started picking up after the first 50 pages where things started to complicate, problems appear.

The narrator of the story focuses on the many different characters throughout the book. The different focuses was written quite well, but many times, I found myself wishing that a certain character could have a longer focus. Since the story is quite lengthy, the many characters and their point of views can get quite confusing sometimes, especially when I forget a certain part of the story. I wanted to get to know more about the characters before all the drama starts. I wasn’t given that chance. Nevertheless, each character has a unique method of dealing with issues and I liked reading about them. The ending is a little open-ended. There is the hint of a continuation in the sequel through the mystery of two characters in Janus’ dream.

This novel is rather thick. I was surprised by its length since I hadn’t checked the number of pages when I accepted it for review. Unless you are a fan of epic fantasy, you might get tired of the usual action and unworldly-like elements found in Crown of Vengeance. After finishing it, I couldn’t wait to get back to earth and its simplicity.

stephen zimmer authorStephen Zimmer is an award-winning author and filmmaker. He has an epic fantasy series and epic urban fantasy series published by Seventh Star Press. Crown of Vengeance, the first book of the epic fantasy Fires in Eden series, is a winner of the 2010 Pluto Award for Best Novel. Zimmer has credits in fantasy and horror films. Visit his website at www.stephenzimmer.com.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Posted on January 19, 2012, in 2012 ABC Challenge, Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

