2011 Wrap-Up & 2012 Challenges

Wrap-up

Deciding whether to post a year wrap-up post has been on the back of my mind the past few days. I’ve finally succumbed to peer pressure (not!). I’ll first start with the wrap-up before going on to the challenges I’ll be taking part in 2012.

Some fun stats first:

Total number of posts in 2011: 173
Total number of page hits in 2011: 12,020
Total number of books reviewed in 2011: 56

Top 5 books of 2011:

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh – It was such a breathtaking debut novel! Definitely my favorite read in 2011. I did not post a review for it here as my review was published at Lovereading.co.uk.

The DMZ by Jeanette Windle – It is long at 500+ pages, but worth every minute I took to read it. The suspense, mystery, action, and romance were all at the right places in the right amounts.

Along Wooded Paths by Tricia Goyer – My favorite Amish book. I liked it so much, I had its sequel pre-ordered from The Book Depository as a birthday present, although it’ll only be released in April 2012.

Tuesday’s Child by Carolyn Gibbs – This book is proof that a book doesn’t have to be published by a big-name publisher to be good. It wasn’t a relaxing nor a light read, but the issues touched on in this book should serve as important reminders that domestic abuse exist.

The Merchant’s Daughter by Melanie Dickerson – The author played the romance element well. There was no rushing and the fairytale element in the book only served to make it an even better read.

I had many wonderful blogging moments this year. Moments with plenty of firsts – first giveaway, first interview, first guest post, first meme, first vlog. Among the things I’ve learned is how to ask interview questions, put on my thinking cap for creative guest post titles, and create a vlog using iMovie. I’m proud of all those accomplishments, minor they may be. Something I’m not proud of is the fact that I failed my first challenge. I simply did not have time to reread, much less read all the books I received this year. The books I won in giveaways have been put aside as I attempt to conquer my reading pile.

Challenges

But! I’ll be back even stronger in 2012. I have signed up for two giveaway hops and with this post, two challenges. I’ll be joining the 2012 Debut Author Challenge hosted by Kristi from The Story Siren as talked about in my post about it, and the ABC Challenge hosted by Patricia from Book Exhibitionism.

For the 2012 DAC, I have not yet checked the list of books by debut YA/MG authors, but will soon. I’ll probably pick one or two from the list and doing the rest as time goes by, meaning that I will not be actively looking for debuts, but will give priority to debut Young Adult/Middle Grade books sent to me for review.

As for the ABC Challenge, I have a few books in mind thus far. I aim to read at least five books for the challenge. I’m not setting a high target for myself because I’ll be away for three months next year (you’ll know about it when the time comes). The books I’m hoping to read (or reread, as in the case of a couple of books) are as follows:-

A Billion Reasons Why by Kristin Billerbeck (reread)
Beauty by Lisa Daily (tentative, depending whether NetGalley has it or not)
Crown of Vengeance by Stephen Zimmer (post has been scheduled)
Dark Water by Laura McNeal
Exile by Anne Osterlund (reread)

Final news:

I know this isn’t really news, but I’ll be keeping a book log here in Sugarpeach. I’ll be updating it each time I read a new book so that I can keep track of the number of books I’ve read. I know this is a little late for it, I should have done this years ago, but better late than never. This will in no way affect the posts as I’ll be having it as a separate page that will be listed in the menu tabs above.

Starting from January 1, 2012, I’ll be having a monthly post titled “The Dear Series”. In each post that will go live at the beginning of each month, I will address a certain issue either regarding authors or bloggers. If it is for authors, it would be titled “Dear Author”. If it is for bloggers, it would be titled “Dear Blogger”. Feel free to give me suggestions as to the issues you would like to see me write about.

This isn’t a news related to the entire 2012 year, but I’ll be having my first blog survey in mid-January, 2012. I hope to have as many readers as possible to fill in the survey. The survey is a sort of “feeler” and “touch-base” for me. I need to know whether the direction I’m taking this blog to with my posts is right or not.

I think I’ve said all I need to say here. This post is longer than I expected it to be. Before I end, here’s a fun fact. Did you know… that Sugarpeach had an average of 3 readers a day in December 2010? For December 2011, we had an average of 52 visitors a day. Not much a big jump, but who knows what holds in December 2012? Anyway, I’ve prattled long enough here!

Happy New Year to all Sugarpeach readers! 🙂 Signing off, 2011. Hello, 2012!

Posted on December 31, 2011, in 2012 ABC Challenge, 2012 Debut Author Challenge, Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Happy New Year, Evangeline! It’s been awesome to virtually meet you this year! Looking forward to reading your blog in 2012 😀

  2. Happy New Year!

    Thank you for attending the ABC Challenge! I hope you’ll have fun! ❤

    • Oh and I love the Dear Series thing. I thought about doing something similiar, but decided against it and just write stuff like that in my weekly recaps. I am however really looking forward to reading your posts! And I wanted to say something else, but, who would have thought, forgot. Oh this is not my day. Again. Gah!

      • I posted my January post in trepidation. 😀 I have a lot to learn about writing such posts. I’m like that sometimes, too, haha. Tell me when you remember.

  3. congratulations on the growth of your blog! here is my 2011 recap: http://wordsandpeace.com/2011/12/30/year-of-reading-2011/

  4. The ABC Challenge looks like a ton of fun. Wow, you had a great year 🙂

  5. You did great in 2011! I hope you have a great 2012 and enjoy your challenges. I hope that your survey and challenges go well.

  6. I liked DMZ too and I have Merchant’s Daughter on my list to read this year. I’m enjoying everyone’s wrap ups this year. I did my favorites and my disappointments on mine.

    2 Kids and Tired Books

Leave a Reply

