My Novel Taught Me

Photobucket
The Writers Voice
Where you get to know the people behind the pages
(Please stop by and follow us at http://ourbooksourvoice.blogspot.com)
This is Emma Michaels, the author of ‘The Thirteenth Chime’ and
‘Anasazi’ and I am taking over! Don’t worry, it is only for one post to
introduce you to the team of amazing authors who are a part of a new
blog called, ‘The Writers Voice’. A blog run by 10 authors and dedicated
to letting you get to know each of us and the many guest authors we feature!

What was one of the most surprising things you learned when creating your book?

Photobucket

“I think the main thing I learned was: If you feel the need and the love to do something in your heart but you don’t think you will be good enough, it is all the more reason to do it and become good at it. All you really need it honest passion and time.”
-Emma Michaels

Photobucket

“Well, I don’t know if this is a learning thing……but a girl that I haven’t been ‘friends’ with on more than a run into her and say “hi” kind of basis has become one of my most trusted Lovies. She is great when it comes to helping me clean up a scene and make it flow right. Thank you Lara! You rock!”

-Devyn Dawson

Photobucket
“How unpredictable a muse can be – that I have no control over where my characters will lead me.”

-Jamie Magee
Photobucket

“If you wait for inspiration to strike you, you might as well give up writing altogether. Write even when you don’t feel like writing. Write even when you’re bored with your plot and characters because if you force yourself, at some point you’ll get back into the story.”

-Jayde Scott

Photobucket
“For me, it is that I do better at coming up with the story by not thinking too much about it other than when I’m writing. I feel like I have inspiration from a higher power, helping me write and giving me ideas that come to me as I’m writing.”

-Victoria Simcox

Photobucket

“That I could actually finish something I started. Three times!”

-Brenda Pandos

Photobucket
“That people are enjoying my work. I wondered if anyone but me would ever like them, but there’s a few out there that do. I treasure every encouraging word!”

-Megg Jensen

Photobucket
“That I actually had a whole book in me – and not just one, but many. During college, I’d given up on fiction writing. I’d convinced myself I was just never meant to write a novel and I needed to use my talent in the business world. When I decided to give it a try again, I was floored when an entire book, and then a series, immediately welled up, seemingly out of nowhere. Family and friends said they knew I had it in me, so I was the only one so surprised.”
-Kristie Cook

Photobucket

“The most surprising thing I learned is that my outline was useless. I’m usually a very structured writer. I always create an outline just to assure myself that I have a logical beginning, middle and end to the story. In every case so far, I departed from the outline and ended up allowing the characters to take the story and run with it. I think the books have turned out better for it.”

-Raine Thomas
Photobucket

“That I had an incredible imagination!”
-Kim Richardson
Oh yeah, did I mention we have amazing guest authors? 
Here is a sneak peak of a few of the interviews we have planned for the future:

Photobucket
“I think what surprised me the most was that my characters had minds of their own and often took the story in directions I hadn’t anticipated. It was fun! And, kind of a roller coaster ride at times.”

-Julia Karr
Photobucket

“I learned how incredibly carefully deadly viruses are handled in the lab—with more precautions than even occurred to me, and only very select people allowed to work with them—but also how easily mistakes can be made despite that, through human fallibility. It was scary and startling to find out how close to the catastrophe I write about in my book we may have come several times in the past.”
-Megan Crewe

Photobucket

“I discovered—painfully, at times—that I really needed to come up with my own methods for writing and revising, and some of those methods are a little… unconventional. For example, the revision process was giving me fits as I tried to do it on my laptop. I finally started printing out chapters, cutting them up with scissors, and physically rearranging them and making notes on them. It went so much easier after that! It made me realize I just had to do what worked for me, even if I was the only one doing it that way.”

-K. C. Neal

Photobucket

“For THE PRINCESS CURSE, I learned a bit of Romanian folklore; I learned that Romanian has had at least three words for dragons. First, zmeu, which is a dragon prominently featured in my book, is a humanoid sort of dragon that likes to kidnap young wives; second, balaur, which is a more dragony sort of dragon; and third, dracul, which we know from Vlad Dracul and of course Dracula. (Vlad Dracul was a member of the Order of the Dragon, which was a prestigious chivalric order of the day; he was very proud to be a member. “Dracula”–or slightly more accurately, “Draculea,” meant “son of the dragon.” In Modern Romania, dracul was adapted to a meaning more like “devil” while balaur stuck with meaning dragon, and zmeu means both dragon and… kite!”

-Merrie Haskell

Photobucket

“There have been a few instances of “wait…I thought I made that up” connected with D,D and the sequel. Probably the biggest one concerns the Allister gene bank and nature preserve, which is mentioned in book one and becomes pivotal in book two. When I was drafting book one, I randomly decided this thing was located in “northern Nicaragua.” It’s my book, it’s 2195, I can make up anything I want, right?

While drafting book two I ended up mapping out some roads using Google Maps, and I found there was a dead zone through which no roads ran. “What is this thing getting in the way of my chase scene?” I huffed, zooming in.

Turns out there’s an enormous nature preserve located in northern Nicaragua, right where I said it would be.

Yeah, I didn’t get any writing done that day after finding that out.

-Lia Habel

Photobucket

“How much I love writing from the male perspective. I don’t know why I found this surprising because all my life my guy friends have told me I don’t think like the ‘average’ female :-s Okkaaay. But yeah, I really enjoy writing from my hero’s perspective. It’s fun because, in general, there is a lot less ‘musing’ and a lot more ‘doing’.”
-Samantha Young
I hope you will join us at The Writers Voice and hear more from our team and other writers from around the web! 
“The Writers Voice: Where you get to know the people behind the pages”
Posted on December 23, 2011, in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

