Review: Seven: Seven Strangers One Purpose by Paige Agnew

seven book coverPublisher: CreateSpace
ISBN: 978-1451579284
Pages: 392
Format: PDF
Rating: 2
Age recommendation: Teen, Young adult, Adult

When five high school students and two adults are forcefully taken in as pawns for a social experiment of a psychopath wanting to prove to the world that God doesn’t care, they are part of a dangerous game that could very well mean the end of their lives. They begin to discover that incidents and happenings from the past few days and possibly weeks aren’t what they seemed to be. They also begin to discover gifts and potential they never knew they possessed. With this knowledge, it is time for these seven to confront the biggest enemy in their lives, Seven.

Review

Can you believe that I’m actually having trouble writing this review? I don’t want to tear down this author’s work since she is a young author and I really want to support young authors (that’s the reason why I agreed to review this book), but I’m trying to be as honest here as possible. I am going to start with the negatives and then the positives of Seven: Seven Strangers One Purpose. This review is going to be longer and more detailed than I had thought of writing, but please bear with me.

Part 1 of the book was absolutely incoherent and confusing. I don’t think a story has ever made me this confuddled before! The plot thread and development was barely there, there was hardly any connection between the various characters from the different scenes, the gaps in the story was very confusing, and the word “stupid” was annoyingly used way too often. Just when I thought the story had started making sense, it all became hazy and confusing again. As a reader, I felt as if I was “groping” around for the gist of the story… anything just to have the story make sense. This incoherency might be due to the little-introduced characters and constant “jumping around” in the story thread. By the time I reached the end of Part 1 in Seven: Seven Strangers One Purpose, I had barely any idea what the whole story was about. It’s terrible not to be able to make any sense out of a story. I felt as if I was reading several unconnected stories that had been thrown together to make a book.

Things started improving in Part 2 of Seven: Seven Strangers One Purpose. There were some well-written passages (good character introduction and descriptions) that had me thinking – “why so long to finally have a well-written passage?” I found the development of the mysteries particularly interesting. Just when I thought the story and writing style was vastly improving, the story became “draggy”. If you watch soap operas, you will know what I mean. It isn’t fun having a plot that can be solved in 15 minutes dragged to an hour or a few hours. This was how it was like in the book. The end of Part 2 and beginning to Part 3 was too “draggy” in my opinion. The conversations and arguments became tiresome. If it hadn’t been for the PDF format conversion problem for this file in my Kindle, I would have skipped many pages.

And then the ending… I liked it. The last paragraph of the story was a sober reminder and good lesson for readers. The motivating factor that had me continue reading was the suspenseful endings in nearly every chapter, the incidents and happenings that aren’t what they seem to be, and the boring but nonetheless creepy psychopath character. The reason why I’m giving this book a 2/5 rating instead of the 1/5 rating as I had earlier intended is because of these positives in the book. There is a glimpse of potential in this book, but it has a long way to go before achieving a worthy 4 or 5 stars rating.

paige agnew authorPaige Agnew wrote her first book, Starless Sky, when she was 14 years old. The book was published when she was 15 years old in January 2010. At age 17, she published Seven: Seven Strangers One Purpose in February 2011. She is pursuing a degree in Creative Writing and English. She writes to entertain others and provokes her readers to evaluate their lives so that they can grow to their full potential through inspiration and encouragement. Visit Paige’s website at www.paigeagnew.com.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author through The YP Publishing book bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Posted on November 15, 2011, in Book Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I like to read books on psychopaths. It’s thrilling and a change from normal romance stories. However, I have little patience. So from your review on how it can drag on… I won’t be looking forward to this book, though the cover looks really good!

    P.s. I make my jewelry crafts/stuffs by buying individual supplies, although there are art kits around but they don’t look too nice in terms of color combination. 😀

    • Psychopaths always make thrillers more interesting, don’t they? I read quite a number of thrillers and the ones with psychopaths in them are usually more creepy and captivating.
      😀 I wasn’t really impressed by the cover, but did not mention it in the review since I always refrain from posting my thoughts on book covers in reviews.
      Mmkay, thanks for answering my question. 🙂 Yeah, that’s what I’ve noticed. I really need to do more artwork!

Leave a Reply

