Review: God’s Lions: The Secret Chapel by John Lyman

God's lions: the secret chapel book coverAuthorHouse, ISBN 978-1449052935

Rating: 3 ~ It’s Okay

Father Leopold Amodeo, a Jesuit scholar, is suddenly summoned to Rome by his old friend, Father Anthony Morelli. A team in Israel had discovered a code in the Bible pointing to an ancient, hidden chapel and Morelli wants to enlist Leo’s help in finding the chapel. They succeed in finding this chapel. Vatican security officials is alerted to their discovery and Leo has to flee to Israel with a clue. This clue brings Leo and a team of Israeli Christians to the middle of the Negev Desert where a deadly and evil secret is held.

When John Lyman sent me the the book pitch, what caught my attention was that this book contained the theme of codes in the Torah. Intrigued, I couldn’t turn down this book. What I liked about this book was the vivid portrayal of some scenes, especially the scenes involving spiritual encounters. I could easily picture those scenes and I shuddered at just thought of them. I also liked the way this book reinforces that Scripture is God-breathed and everything happens for a reason. However, this book is not without its faults. The narration was awkward at a few parts, especially the parts where similes were used. I also found it unthinkable that a priest could exclaim “Oh, my God.” I don’t come from a Catholic background, I come from a Protestant background. And I can’t imagine any of the pastors I know exclaiming “Oh, my God.” That would be viewed as sacrilegious. I completed God’s Lions: The Secret Chapel with mixed feelings. I loved the vivid descriptions and will definitely pick this book up when I want to read a horror story, but I felt that the narration could have been better.

~~~~

john lyman authorJohn Lyman’s debut novel, God’s Lions: The Secret Chapel, was on the Kindle top 100 bestseller list in religious fiction and action/adventure for six months. Its sequel, God’s Lions: House of Acerbi, is due to be released in Fall 2011. Lyman is a freelance writer. Visit his website at www.johnlymanauthor.com.

~~~~

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Posted on September 27, 2011, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hmmm sounds interesting in theory but maybe a bit creepy for me…

Leave a Reply

