Interview with Boof from The Book Whisperer

Today is my BBAW interview swap day and I have Boof from The Book Whisperer here in Sugarpeach to talk about blogging and other random stuff. When I visited Boof’s blog for the questions, I got a little carried away and came up with more questions than intended… because after all, when better to “quiz” a book blogger veteran than during this interview swap?! Thanks to Boof for taking the time to answer my many questions. I hope you enjoy this informative and fun interview and don’t forget to visit Boof’s blog after reading this interview!

bex book bloggerAccording to your blog bio, you have a “serious book-buying habit”. How many books do you buy in a week. If you don’t buy books weekly, how many books do you buy in a month?

Ooh, that’s a difficult question. Sometimes I can kid myself that I can go without books for a month or so and that I’m cured and then I’ll fall off the wagon. When I fall, I fall hard! It depends on how many second-hand book shops I “just happen” to find myself in or what 3 for 2’s they have in Waterstones. On average I probably buy about one a week at the moment – but then being an established blogger now I get so many review copies sent to me by publishers that it quenches my craving for new books a little these days……..but then there’s always the library (help me!!)

You started book blogging in December 2009. How was it like at first?

It was great right from the start. Once I realised there was such a large community of like-minded people out there I worked really hard to establish my blog by reading and commenting on others and tweeting with other book-lovers. I’ve had great fun ever since.

Why did you start book blogging?

I had absolutely no idea what I was getting myself in to when I started and I was so unaware of how many book bloggers there were already out there. I had been reviewing books on sites like Amazon and Goodreads for years so I decided to start my own blog to keep a record of my books too.

Has your opinion on book blogging changed since you began? If yes, how?

Not really. I do it for fun and to keep a record of reading. I have heard on the blogging grapevine about some jealousies and nasty comments etc but it has never been evident on my blog, nor have I any interest in joining in. Live and let live, I say.

You have over 150,000 blog hits and your blog readers come from different countries all over the world. What did you do to grow your blog readership?

I started off with hardly anyone following my blog (as happens when you start out) but I made an effort to visit other blogs and actually read their posts and comment on them. I soon found some bloggers that I liked; ones who enjoy similar books to me or whose reviews and comments I like reading. I also set up a Twitter account under my blog name and made sure that I followed other book bloggers and publishers to keep up with what’s going on out there. There’s no real secret other than making sure that I make the time to reply to my readers comments (if they have taken the time to read my blog and comment then it’s respectful to acknowledge that – I love getting comments too!) and also to make sure that I visit back other blogs. I love the fact that so many people around the world have visited my blog – a world of book-lovers. šŸ™‚

Do you review every book you receive from publishers or publicity companies? Why?

No, it wouldn’t be possible to. I get so many now that I would literally read those and nothing else otherwise and I think it’s important to remember why I read – because I enjoy it and not because I feel I have to. Blogging is my hobby, not my job (I have a full time job that I have to read and blog around). I am really grateful for all the books I get sent (and that feeling of excitement when they land on the doormat never goes away šŸ˜‰ ).

What do you thinking of cross-posting reviews made in a blog to book consumer sites such as Amazon and Barnes & Noble? Do you cross-post your reviews?

Yes, all the time. Publishers work really hard to promote their books and especially if they have sent me a review copy then I think it’s fair to post on as many sites as possible (I always do Amazon, Goodreads and Waterstones). In my reviews, even if I haven’t enjoyed a book, I will always say that it is only my opinion and that people should judge a book for themselves.

And finally, to my two signature questions. Can you please tell us a little-known fact about yourself?

This is really difficult – I’m trying to think what people might not know about me. Oh, I live in a 400 year old house in Yorkshire, England that used to be the home of Richard Duke of York. If you’ve ever heard the nursery rhyme “The Grand Old Duke of York, he had ten thousand me, he marched them up to the top of the hill and he marched them down again…” – that’s him! He lived in my house!

Is there anything else you would like to say?

Only thank you for interviewing me and I enjoyed answering your questions. Also, thank you to all the readers out there who take the time to comment on posts – it’s always lovely to hear from you. šŸ™‚

Posted on September 13, 2011, in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. This is just trouble! Now I have another book blog I must visit regularly šŸ™‚ What’s a girl to do?! A 400 year old home??? Awe-some!!!

  2. Great interview, and nice to meet Evangeline! Boof and I have been blog buddies for a while now, and actually, most of the questions I would answer exactly the same. Isn’t that funny? Except for the house, mine’s from the year 2000. Now, have you looked for old documents under the floorboards yet?

    • Nice to meet you too, Leeswammes. I enjoyed reading your BBAW interview with Shellyrae. šŸ™‚
      Haha, well, I guess tat you and Boof are “kindred spirits” as Anne from Anne of Green Gables would say.

  3. Wow, great interview. The blogging community is so large…so its hard to keep up with everyone.

  4. A great interview with boof nice to find some more out about boof all the best stu

  5. What a lovely interview. I’ve met Boof once before and remember chatting away with her about…books, of course! She’s one of my favourite bloggers and always makes me add way too many books to my wishlist!

  6. Nice interview, and great to find your blog! šŸ™‚

  7. Duke of York…. way cool Boof

    I have to do better with posting on Amazon and LibraryThing, I agree it helps the authors and publishers so much.

    You have one of my favourite blogs.

  8. Hi Evangeline – didn’t have chance to stop by yesterday (VERY long day at work!) but wanted to say thanks for hosting my interview šŸ™‚ Nice to get to know you!

  9. How very awesome re the house! I hadn’t known that šŸ™‚ Also, loved reading these.

Leave a Reply

