Review: Blue Skies Tomorrow by Sarah Sundin

blue skies tomorrow book coverRevell Books, ISBN 978-0800734237

Rating: 4 ~ I Like It

Helen Carlisle’s husband was a war casualty in the Pacific. Portraying herself as the grieving widow of the hometown hero is draining her, but she is back doing her heart’s work, volunteering. Lt. Raymond Novak heart’s work is preaching, but he is working as an instructor training B-17 pilots. His job doesn’t get him involved in active combat and it is the perfect excuse to ignore his deepest fear. On visits home, he is attracted to Helen, but deep secrets and fears threaten to ruin their love.

I can’t stop thinking how beautifully written this story is. It had a slow start and I was wondering if I would be disappointed with it. I wasn’t. The action picked up halfway and the story had a sweet ending. This book is definitely my favorite August read.

I have this habit of reading a page here, there, and then piecing the whole story together. I couldn’t do that with Blue Skies Tomorrow. There was a reason behind every action by every character and reading the book page by page was vital to understanding the story. I was reading the text as fast as I could to find out the ending. Not surprisingly, I completed this book in slightly more than three hours (it is 423 pages long)

Blue Skies Tomorrow is the last book in the Wings of Glory series. The first two books is about Ray’s brothers, Walt and Jack. I have not read the first two books, but since the romance stories of Walt and Jack is given a minor inclusion in Blue Skies Tomorrow, I am interested in how Sundin blends these three stories in three different books together without making any of these books a must-read for a reader to understand the story.

French and German is used in the story. I wished there was a glossary of French and German terms included in the book. As someone who doesn’t know French and German, I had to type the foreign language words in Google Translate just to find their meanings.

I liked the well-researched facts contained in this novel. The descriptions of the fighter aircraft and the way they are piloted showed that plenty of research was put into this novel. An event that happened during war time in Port Chicago, the place where Helen worked for awhile, was real. To add on to it, more than 10 people in the story are real. This well-mixed elements of fact and fiction made this story a pleasant read for me as I like reading general knowledge in fictional stories.

~~~~

sarah sundin authorSarah Sundin’s first book, A Distant Melody, was published in 2010. Her second book, A Memory Between Us, was published that same year. It was a finalist in the Inspirational Reader’s Choice Awards. In April 2011, Sarah received the Writer of the Year Award at the Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference. Her third book, Blue Skies Tomorrow, was published in August 2011. Three books from her Wings of the Nightingale will be published in 2012, 2013, and 2014. Visit her website at www.sarahsundin.com.

~~~~

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the LitFuse Publicity Group book bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

~~~~

To celebrate the release of Blue Skies Tomorrow, the final installment of the Wings of Glory series, Sarah is giving one lucky winner A Vintage Kindle Prize Package! 

Read what the reviewers are saying here.

One winner will receive:

* Kindle with Wi-Fi

* Handmade vintage apron for you and a friend (see a photo here)

* Blue Skies Tomorrow (for Kindle)

To enter just click one of the icons below. But, hurry, giveaway ends on September 10. Winner will be announced on September 12 at Sarah Sundin’s blog. Details and official rules can be found when entering the contest.
Enter via E-mail Enter via FacebookEnter via Twitter
Posted on September 1, 2011, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. A mix of fact and fiction would only mean that the author has rich knowledge on what’s she writing 😀 honestly I thought it’d be a boring fiction book from the cover (Which was the first thing I saw) but your review had me thinking differently 🙂 nice review!

  2. Oh, I adore the cover on this and this is so the kind of war story I could go for, right now.

  3. Evangeline – thank you for the lovely review! I’m so glad you enjoyed Ray & Helen’s story – and the history as well.

Leave a Reply

