Review: Treasure Me by Christine Nolfi

treasure me book covereBook, B004XMOP9I

Birdie Kaminsky has been a petty thief for years. Now, she has come to Liberty, Ohio, to steal a Civil War treasure supposedly hidden by her ancestor. She meets her match in Hugh Schaeffer, an investigative reporter who is in town on an job redemption assignment. She knows she can’t trust Mr. Reporter, but he is relentless in his questioning. And as she searches for the treasure, she not only uncovers a family history filled with secrets but she might also discover more than she bargained for – liberty.

I found reading about Birdie interesting. Her character was well developed and readers got to know quite a bit about her past and personality. This wasn’t so with Hugh. I wished we are given a better glimpse of his past, beyond the fact that he is a man with a soft spot for women and had done something in the past that continues to haunt him. Strangely enough though, Hugh was my favorite character. I can’t pinpoint exactly why, but it might have to do with the fact that he received the harsher “punishment” at the end of the story. Birdie had been a petty thief for years and I couldn’t understand why she was let off so easily. I couldn’t even sympathize with her after we are told that she had been used by her con mother when she was a little girl.
I thought that the topic of Civil War gems was a bit too far-fetched. A plantation owner giving gems to a former slave? Incredible! Yet, since this book is completely a fiction work, it deserves allowance.
Overall, while Treasure Me is a quaint story of treasures and romance, it is just not the type of story I’d pick up when I’m looking for something to read. Its prose was good, but I couldn’t like it, as much as I had wanted to.

~~~~

christine nolfi authorChristine Nolfi owned a public relations firm in Cleveland, Ohio. She closed the firm 15 years ago after traveling to Philippines and adopting a sibling group of four children. She started writing novels full-time in 2004. Her first novel, Treasure Me, was published in April 2011. It is the first book in the Liberty, Ohio series. Its sequel, Second Chance Grill, will be released in October 2011. Visit Christine’s blog at christinenolfibooks.blogspot.com.

~~~~

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received the electronic copy of this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Posted on August 31, 2011, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Many thanks for graciously reading and reviewing, Evangeline. The next book in the series, Second Chance Grill, will be released in October.

Leave a Reply

