Review: What the Heart Sees by Kathleen Fuller

what the heart sees book coverThomas Nelson, ISBN 978-1595549198

A Miracle for Miriam:

When Miriam and Seth were young, she had a crush on him, but he ridiculed her. She has never gotten over that incident. Years pass and their paths cross at a Christmas party. Miriam notices that he has changed. Not just the way he looks because he had gone through a bad accident, but also his attitude.

A Place of His Own: 

10 years ago, Josiah suddenly left Paradise without saying goodbye to Amanda, his best friend. Now he’s back with the intention of fixing his house and leaving again. Amanda thought that her friendship with Josiah could be rekindled, until she realizes that he has changed. A lot. He is now bitter and distant. She knows that there are some things about a person she can’t fix, but she won’t give up and watch him leave again.

What the Heart Sees:

A car accident claimed the life of Caroline who was engaged to Christopher. Her death left him bitter and angry and he leaves the Amish community. Ellie lost her sight in the accident but managed to move on and learned how to live with her disability. With Christopher’s return, it might not be impossible for him to find forgiveness and for her to find love.

I have read a few Amish romances but these three novellas in What the Heart Sees is a win. Among all my Amish fiction books, this book is a favorite. Although the stories are simple and light, there are moral lessons behind each story. Lessons such as forgiveness, changing from selfishness, and acceptance are prominent throughout the book.

An aspect that is very obvious is the way the guys in the stories are facing major problems while the girls seemingly behave better. I wonder if that could be because Amish boys are more likely to turn Englisch than Amish girls?

I liked the endings of the first two novellas, but I did not like the ending of the third novella. It depicted the Amish-turned-Englisch returning to the community after a shunning. I wish it was different. After all, we have dozens of Amish fiction books with the happily-ever-after endings of Amish returning to their community after they were placed in a Bann. It would have been nice to read something different.

Overall, What the Heart Sees is a collection of three light stories that will either cause you to admire the Amish values or cause you to shake your head at the strong do’s and don’ts the Amish adhere to.


author kathleen fullerBestselling author Kathleen Fuller started writing in 2000 and published her first short story a year later. Since then, she has written and published several short stories, novellas, and novels. She also does freelance non-fiction work and have worked as an editor. Visit her website at


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Posted on July 27, 2011, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: