Review: The Fine Art of Insincerity by Angela Hunt

the fine art of insincerity book coverHoward Books, ISBN 978-1439182031

Rating: 4 ~ I Like It

Gingerbread, Pennyroyal, and Rosemary head over to the beach cottage of their beloved late grandmother Lillian to empty all personal possessions as it has been sold. These three sisters have nine marriages among them. As they gather together at Grandma Lillian’s house for the last time, one of them faces her husband’s infidelity, another plots to end her life so that her husband can be better off, and another contemplates leaving her dull husband. Besides martial problems, their relationship with each other is in trouble. The past returns to haunt them, and hard feelings together with it, too. All three sisters arrived at the cottage with the intention to clean it, but they will leave having accomplished more than that.

If you are a lady with sisters, you’d definitely be able to identify with one or more of the characters in The Fine Art of Insincerity. The portrayal of the personalities of the eldest daughter, second daughter, and third daughter are very accurate. As the eldest girl in my family, I could see myself behaving the same way Ginger does. What I like about this novel is its descriptions of what the characters are doing or how they are feeling. The descriptions are good and readers can vividly picture what the characters are doing or understand how they are feeling. I also like the way the narrator frequently changes between Ginger, Penny, Rose. This helps to give the reader a perspective of how all three main characters are feeling and what they are thinking in the various scenarios. In addition, a distinctly different font is used for each narrator. This makes it easy for readers to spot which chapters are narrated by which character. Another thing I like about this book is that heavy topics are used throughout. Abortion, divorce, infidelity, suicide and family misunderstandings are examined in-depth. These topics makes it difficult for a reader to lightly skim through this book. While this book is pretty enjoyable, conservative Christians might have a problem with it as some of the characters divorce frequently. Personally, I had a problem with this. I don’t believe in divorce and I definitely don’t agree with the characters divorcing in search of the right man. Overall, The Fine Art of Insincerity is a novel with an excellent narration, endearing characters, and controversial topics.

~~~~

author angela huntAngela Hunt is the best-selling author of more than 100 books. Nearly 4 million copies of her books have been sold worldwide. Her novel The Note, was turned into a Hallmark Channel Christmas movie in 2007. It became the highest rated television movie in the channel’s history. Her nonfiction book Don’t Bet Against Me!, written with Deanna Favre, was in the New York Times bestseller list for several weeks. She has also won numerous awards, including the prestigious Christy Award. Visit her website at www.angelahuntbooks.com.

~~~~

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author through The Glass Road Public Relations <http://www.glassroadpr.com/> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Posted on July 6, 2011, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. This is the second review I’ve seen of this book and it sounds intriguing. I love books with drama, tears, and then understanding. Good review, Evangeline.

  2. very detail review. I’m going to add to my list of books to read.

  3. Thank you for your kind review. It’s always nice to read a reviewer who “gets” what I’m trying to do in a story. 🙂 I don’t believe in divorce, either, but we’re living in a world that does . . . so I thought I’d explore some of the reasons why. You are very kind and I appreciate you!

    Angie Hunt

  4. DRUM ROLL- I have selected you for the IRRESISTIBLY SWEET BLOG AWARD. ( I didnt notice your blog being blog award zone free)
    come to my page and look under the section titled More Reviews, under the header and click the Blog winners blog award winners. for details about this award.
    http://sidnebkclubreviewz.blogspot.com

  5. I saw you were listed in the literary blog directory, and I thought I’d share with you a blog hop I find fun, the Literary Blog Hop. This week’s prompt is to tell about your favorite literary device. Here’s my attempt to pick my favorite literary device.

    Also, I’d like to invite you to throw your name into the hat for a $25 Amazon gift certificate in Readerbuzz’s July Giveaway!It’s international!

    I hope you will stop by. I always follow back.

Leave a Reply

