Positive Cross–cultural Experiences by Gabriella van Rij + Giveaway

with all my might tour bannerGabriella van Rij was born a Muslim, raised a Catholic. She was taken from an orphanage in Pakistan and raised by a diplomatic family in Europe. She went from having humble meals to three course dinners complete with silver cutlery. Her book, With All My Might, was published in November 2010. It is a memoir about her struggles in finding her place in the cross-cultural world she lives in.

Positive Cross–cultural Experiences

The best learning curve I learned was to be true to who I am. When I understood that, everything else fall into place.

My experience with speaking various languages has been positive for me as it is through this experience that I could communicate with everyone… and learn about them. I have always been very open and as a child, it is easy to get other kids to talk back to you about matters such as your skin color.

I have lived all over the world. This is the second most positive experience I have as I got to see how other cultures live and the privilege to see and drink that in has been invaluable to who I am today.

~~~~

Giveaway

Gabriella is giving away 1 autographed copy of With All My Might to a Sugarpeach reader. This giveaway is open worldwide and ends on July 15, 2011. I will email the winner who will be drawn using Random.org. If the winner does not reply to my notification within 4 days, I will draw another winner.

Mandatory entry: Leave a comment below.

Extra entries (optional):

(+1 extra entry) Subscribe to Sugarpeach by using the ‘Email subscription’ form located at the top-right corner of the right sidebar. Leave a separate comment telling me you have subscribed to Sugarpeach.

(+1 extra entry) ‘Like’ Sugarpeach’s Facebook fan page by clicking on the ‘Like’ button here. Leave a separate comment telling me you have ‘liked’ Sugarpeach’s Facebook fan page.

(+1 extra entry) Follow me in Twitter by clicking on the ‘Follow’ button here. Leave a separate comment telling me you have followed me in Twitter.

(+1 extra entry) Post about this giveaway in your blog, Facebook or Twitter*. Leave a separate comment with a link to your post(s).

*For tweets about this giveaway, use this: @EvangelineHan I entered to win a signed copy of With All My Might by @GabriellaWAMM http://wp.me/p17zQH-et

Posted on June 22, 2011, in Giveaways, Guest blog posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 40 Comments.

  1. This one sounds fascinating. I think exposure to travel and different cultures is so important. I don’t speak multiple languages and haven’t traveled nearly as much as I’d like or plan to, but each experience has enriched my life and made me a better person.

    I’d love to win it.
    je2kids(at)gmail(dot)com

    2 Kids and Tired Books

  2. I follow via Google Reader
    je2kids(at)gmail(dot)com

  3. I want to read it! I love books about adoption and different cultures!

  4. I follow you on Twitter!

  5. I would love to read how she went about finding out who she really is…
    Isn’t that all what we want in life?!
    Many thanks, Cindi

  6. I “Like” Sugarpeach on Facebook!
    Again, many thanks…
    Cindi
    Cindi H.

  7. I am a subscriber to Sugarpeach!
    Merci, Cindi

  8. I also follow you on Twitter.
    Thank you…Cindi
    cmh512

  9. thanks for the opportunity to read this fascinating story

  10. i’m an email subscriber 🙂

  11. This looks very interesting. I like her comment about knowing who you are, and then everyhthing else will fall into place. Thanks for the giveaway.

  12. like SugarPeach on Facebook

  13. What an interesting book. I found your blog in the literary blog directory.
    Thanks for the giveaway.
    jgoffice(at)cox(dot)net

  14. This sounds like an interesting book! Thanks for the chance.

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  15. email subscriber

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  16. I like your FB Fan page

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  17. I follow you on Twitter
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  18. Tweet! Tweet!
    @NancyeDavis

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  19. This book very interesting.Thanks for the chance.!!

    Thanks!
    Jenn
    learnquilling@gmail.com
    I Love Making Tutus

  20. I liked Sugarpeach on FB!

    Thanks!
    Jenn
    learnquilling@gmail.com
    I Love Making Tutus

  21. I followed @EvangelineHan on twitter.

    Thanks!
    Jenn
    learnquilling@gmail.com
    I Love Making Tutus

  22. Thanks for the giveaway. I’d love to read this book.

  23. like Suparpeach on Facebook

  24. email subscriber to Sugarpeach

  25. Great giveaway! I’d love to be entered.

    Please count me in., Thanks.

    avalonne83 [at] yahoo [dot] it

  26. Fabulous thank you!!

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  27. SUBSCRIBER

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  28. FB: Mary Preston
    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  29. TWITTER: maryloucoolumralph

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  30. Count me in!

    JHS
    Colloquium

    jhsmail at comcast dot net

  1. Pingback: LIVE! BOOK TOUR – Gabriella van Rij – With All My Might: One Woman’s Cross-Cultural Journey » NURTURE Virtual BOOK Tourz™ BLOG

  2. Pingback: West Of Mars — Win A Book! » Blog Archive » With All My Might by Gabriella van Rij

Leave a Reply

