Review: The Eternal Messiah: Jesus of K’turia by W.R. Pursche & Michael Gabriele

the eternal messiah book cover

Varzara House, ISBN 978-0975379356

Captain Win’s League research ship is sent on a mission to K’turia to find a missing freighter. The mission is dangerous. Lemians, enemies of the League, are already in K’turia and will capture anyone from the League. When Win and his companions arrive in K’turia, they find the planet stirred by a religious preacher, Jesus.

The story of The Eternal Messiah: Jesus of K’turia is obviously very, very similar to the New Testament story of Jesus. There are just so many parallels! What I like about the book is that certain sections in the book seems to have a double meaning. For example, in one scene, Jesus appeared to Win and told him that He will help him overcome his despair. After that encounter with Jesus, it is written:

With each step he (Win) grew stronger, and as he left the camp and entered the orchard, the path, which should have been hidden in darkness, was miraculously easy to see.

I like the way there is a double meaning behind that sentence. Firstly, it can mean literally, ie. physical light and darkness. Secondly, it can mean figuratively, ie. spiritual light and darkness. Another thing I like about this book is its many sub-plots. The sub-plots usually occur at the same time and this adds intrigue to the story. When I received this book, I was a little apprehensive since I’ve never read a book which tries to recreate Jesus’ life in a different setting and era. But, I soon found out that this book stays true to one of the themes of Jesus’ life, His sacrifice for mankind. Overall, The Eternal Messiah: Jesus of K’turia is a thought-provoking and challenging read. The end of the book does not clearly indicate what happens to the League, so maybe a sequel is coming soon? I’m certainly interested in learning about how things work out for the League in the end!

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Posted on June 11, 2011, in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Hmm….I think it’s great that you gave a book like this a try. I’m not sure what I would think of it.

  2. Your response make me more interested in the book than your review – why would Christians have reservations with it?

    • Isn’t that the point? Book first, review second? 🙂
      I think that Christians (especially the conservative ones) would have reservations about this book because it tries to recreate a different scenario for Jesus to be in. It tries to tell what Jesus might say if He is in K’turia. Some people might have a problem with a story concocting something about Jesus that isn’t in the Bible.
      Nevertheless… I honestly think that we should treat this book as a work of fiction based on facts. There are really no theology problems with it (as far as I can see) and it sticks quite closely to the NT story.

  3. I imagine Christians, even conservative ones, will be OK with it. After all, the Left Behind series is based on a rather skewed vision of Revelations. If the book sticks to the NT story, it sounds like it could be interesting – seeing how it plays out on a different setting. I’m adding this to my list of “want to reads”; I just hope I have enough time over the summer.

    • Hm, I’m not sure about that. I’ve been talking to a friend about this and he said that he’d would have some negative input since it’s hard to analyze books that makes up stuff about Jesus. He read the Left Behind series but stopped when it came to the part of how Jesus looks like. I have never read the Left Behind series, but I would personally have reservations if it tries to say something about Jesus that isn’t in the Bible. I hope you do have time to read The Eternal Messiah! I’d be interested in knowing what you think of it. 🙂

  4. Good food for thought! I almost didn’t read the review because of the type of book it is, much less want to read the book, but after reading your review I would give it a try. Well said.

  5. I believe The Lord Jesus Christ is God, The Son of God, and The Messiah; as clearly taught in The Bible. The stakes are too high to be wrong about this.

Leave a Reply

