Interview with Cheryl Shireman

cheryl shireman authorAs a follow-up to my review of Life is But a Dream by Cheryl Shireman, here is my interview with Cheryl. Life is But a Dream was published in January 2011 after she read a book on eBook publishing. Since then, she has successfully ventured into the industry of eBooks and independent publishing. One of the things she likes best about writing is that she can do it from home.

If you were me, what is the first interview question you would ask Cheryl Shireman?

Who are your favorite writers? And my answer is Elizabeth Berg and John Steinbeck.

Why?

Because I am always interested in the answer to this question. I like to know what books other people read! I am always excited about discovering new writers.

Why should readers purchase and read Life is But a Dream?

Hmmm. That is a tough one. Because some readers will not like Life is But a Dream, and this is true for every book. But if you are reader who is interested in a story about a woman who is thinking about ending her life, and instead, chooses to redefine and LIVE her life, then you might be interested in this novel.

How has your journey as an Indie author been so far?

It has been absolutely wonderful. It has exceeded, by far, any expectation that I might have had. I love that I have had the opportunity to exchange emails with so many kind readers as well as other writers. Earlier this year I received an email from a woman who told me that my story had encouraged her to write her own novels. It was a long-time dream of hers. She told me, because of me, she was ready to begin making that dream come true. Then, on April 28th I woke up to find that Life is But a Dream was #3 on Amazon’s Movers and Shakers list. My novel had been selling well the previous day, so I thought I would look to see if it could possibly be in the top 100. I had NO IDEA that it would rank #3. In shock, I just stared at my computer screen. And then started crying. Ha! Such moments as those are pretty hard to top.

You have ghostwritten a couple of books. How has your experience as a ghostwriter been like?

I really enjoyed ghostwriting the non-fiction books. It was very different from writing in my own voice. It was important that I not only organized and presented the material in a compelling manner, but it was even more important that I do so in the author’s voice. Ghostwriting has its own unique challenges, but I feel that it was a great experience. It also gave me the opportunity to get a behind-the-scenes look into the various stages of traditional publishing. Both books are being published by a major publishing company and I am very excited for the author. It was an honor to be part of the process.

Can you please tell us a little-known fact about yourself?

I love watching episodes of the old tv show, Gunsmoke. Especially the ones featuring Festus. Those are my favorites! 🙂

Anything else you would like to say?

I just want to say thank you to the many readers who have, literally, made my dreams come true. Every time someone buys a copy of one of my books, whether it is through Kindle, Nook, or as a paperback through Amazon, I feel so grateful. And very blessed. Thank you. And thank you, Evangeline!

~~~~

Thank you, Cheryl, for doing this interview with me! For more information about Cheryl and her books, please visit her website at cherylshireman.com. You can read my review of Life is But a Dream at Review: Life is But a Dream by Cheryl Shireman.

Posted on May 11, 2011, in Author Interviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

