Review: Have You Seen Her? by Chicki Brown

have you seen her book cover

E-book, Available in Amazon and Barnes & Noble

Rating: 3 ~ It’s Okay

Marcia Hadley was a socialite living in a palatial home with her heir husband, Reginald. She drove a Jaguar, wore designer clothes and worked as a realtor in luxury properties. But, Marcia’s life was far from perfect; Reginald was a drug addict and physical abuser. Marcia ran away and now lives incognito as Dani Reynolds. She works as a cocktail waitress and her living condition and expenses is a far cry from what it once was. Reginald is looking for her and when he finds her, Dani knows that she will not have it easy from a man who has been humiliated by his wife.

The plot in Have You Seen Her? is interesting. The surprises in it were well-placed and the story had a movie likeness. Although the fairytale ending made me wished that Chicki Brown had taken a more drastic route and ended the story in a different note, I enjoyed most parts of the story. I liked the way the story raised awareness about physical abuse. What happened to Marcia is happening to many women around the world. But, this book is not without faults. Some parts of it were over-narrated and I spotted many grammar and punctuation errors. These errors gave me a slight reading difficulty and I could not read the book in complete ease. (After posting this, I received an email from Chicki stating that she had sent me the old copy of the book. She apologized, had the latest version converted into PDF and sent to me. After glancing through it, I am glad to say that I could not spot any errors in it.) Also, it is unfortunate that the book is there is no hard copies for the book and it is only available electronically.

~~~~

chicki brown authorChicki Brown’s love for reading started when she was in elementary school. Her trips to the library always ended with her bringing back a stack of books. She began writing when in junior high and her first novel, Have You Seen Her?, was published electronically on June 2010. She has since released her second novel, Hot Fun In The Summertime, and her third release, Hollywood Swinging, will be coming out in May 2011. Check out her website at http://chicki663.webs.com/.

Interview with Chicki Brown

~~~~

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received the electronic copy of this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Posted on March 8, 2011, in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love that independent authors are able to get their workout electronically like this – even if not having a professional editor can cause issues with the overall quality at times.

    It looks like the book is getting great reviews on Amazon too, so Chicki Brown seems to be on the right track!

  2. Hi Trish,
    I received an email from Chicki yesterday stating that she had sent me the old electronic copy of the book. That explains the grammar and punctuation errors. She emailed me the latest version and having glanced through it, I am happy to I did not spot any errors.

  1. Pingback: Interview with Chicki Brown | Sugarpeach

Leave a Reply

